Theme of the month

Theme of the Month

Join us each month as we focus on a topic of interest to STEM Teacher Leaders with a webinar panel, open discussion, resources and blog post. 

January Expert Panel: America's Strategy for STEM Education – Why it is Relevant to STEM Teacher-Leaders

Recorded January 8, 2019 at 7:00PM EST


Description: In this theme of the month Expert Panel, we address four critical aspects of “America’s Strategy For STEM Education” and discuss why it is relevant to STEM Teacher Leaders. The four areas that will be addressed are 1) Increasing Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion in STEM, 2) Engaging Students where Disciplines Converge, 3) Promoting Computational Literacy and 4) Building STEM Ecosystems and Strategic Partnerships


Jeff Weld directs the Iowa Governor’s STEM Advisory Council and is a faculty member in the Department of Biology at the University of Northern Iowa. In 2018 he took a leave of absence to accept the appointment of STEM Education Policy Advisor in the Office of Science and Technology Policy, Executive Office of the President, to lead the production of Charting a Course for Success: America's Strategy for STEM Education, published on December 4, 2018.



K. Renae Pullen has been an educator for over 20 years. She is the recipient of the 2008 Presidential Award for Excellence in Science Teaching for Louisiana. Currently, she is a science specialist for Caddo Parish Public Schools in Shreveport, Louisiana. Besides being dedicated science educator, Ms. Pullen has served on several local, state, and national committees as well as presented at numerous workshops and conferences.

Dr. Remy Dou is an Assistant Professor & NSF CAREER awardee (AISL Award #1846167) with dual appointments in the Department of Teaching and Learning & the STEM Transformation Institute at Florida International University. His current research explores the academic & social experiences of diverse individuals in informal STEM learning settings & how those experiences shape factors like STEM interest, identity, & self-efficacy. He also spends some of his time examining K-12 STEM teacher leadership in education policy arenas. As an educator, he contributes to the preparation of pre-service STEM teachers, as well as mentors students seeking research experiences in STEM education.

Cindy Hasselbring serves as Senior Policy Advisor and Assistant Director for STEM Education at the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy. Previously, she was the Senior Director for AOPA’s High School Aviation Initiative and led efforts to build a four-year aviation STEM curriculum to inspire more students to enter careers in aviation and aerospace. She led STEM initiatives as Special Assistant to the State Superintendent at the Maryland State Department of Education (MSDE). Prior to working at MSDE, Cindy completed two years as an Albert Einstein Distinguished Educator Fellow at the National Science Foundation in Arlington, Virginia. She was a 16-year veteran mathematics teacher at Milan High School in Michigan and was awarded the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching and earned National Board Certification during her teaching tenure. In her free time, she enjoys spending time with family and flying as a private pilot.

Sarah Reeves Young is the Digital Teaching and Learning Coordinator for the Utah State Office of Education. She works to develop opportunities to expand digital teaching and learning to all students and teachers in the state of Utah. Prior to this role, Young was the K-12 STEM Liaison between the STEM Action Center and the Utah State Office of Education. Young provided technical support and leadership in the development and improvement of STEM education in the elementary and secondary schools in the state. As an Einstein Fellow for 2011-2012, Young served in the National Science Foundation in the Office of International Science and Engineering. Additionally, Young engaged in projects with the State Department, NASA, the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars, and the National Science Teachers Association.